An electrostatic precipitator quotation for a commercial kitchen is a priced configuration: the models named, the airflow they are sized for, the stages in the train and the commercial terms. The unit is the cheap part; a configuration built on wrong inputs is not. Send the ten inputs below to get an offer you can hold against any other.
This page helps you decide what to send with an enquiry for a kitchen electrostatic precipitator or ecology unit, and why each input changes the offer. It also says what to do when an input is missing and what a quotation from us contains. It does not select a model, state a price or align offers you have already received. For model tables, see the LK in-duct range and the kitchen ecology unit. For what moves the number, see what sets an electrostatic precipitator price; for aligning offers already in hand, see pollution control unit cost.
| Question | Our answer |
|---|---|
| What a quotation is built on | The ten inputs on this page. Three of them, the cooking, the airflow and the site supply, fix the configuration; the other seven fix the route, the documents and the terms |
| Reply time | Within 24 hours on business days, with any open points listed on the quotation |
| What comes back | A proforma invoice with Incoterms and lead time, the datasheet for the quoted models, and copies of the certificates that apply to those models; third-party test reports on request |
| Minimum order and lead time | One unit; 7–15 days for standard models, with freight on top |
| List price | None; the number follows the configuration your inputs fix |
| Pressure drop | Stated per model at the design airflow, as a complete unit |
- Why “price?” alone never gets back a quotation you can compare
- The 10-Input ESP Enquiry Sheet
- From the inputs to a route: in-duct, hood or three stages
- What you get back
- What you do not need to send
- A two-line enquiry rewritten as ten lines
- Scope and limits
- Buyer record and key takeaways
- Frequently asked questions
Why “price?” alone never gets back a quotation you can compare
An enquiry that says only “price?” gets back a number for a configuration the supplier chose, and no two suppliers choose the same one. Three variables sit behind every kitchen electrostatic precipitator quotation: the route, the airflow and the configuration.
In-duct, hood or a three-stage ecology unit: that is the route. The airflow sets the model size and how many units sit in parallel, and the configuration is the stage list, the site supply and the documents attached. When the enquiry is silent on them, each supplier fills the blanks from habit, and the offers that come back price different machines. Each number is right for the machine it describes and useless for comparing it with the next.
A common enquiry is two lines long: the word ESP and the word price. When it arrives, the figure goes out with the open points beside it, each tied to the assumption it carries. A figure that travels without its assumptions anchors the comparison on something nobody wrote down. An offer that quotes a default and leaves the assumption inside it reads as the cheaper one until the variation arrives.
What moves the number itself, the six factors from airflow to commercial terms, is set out in what sets an electrostatic precipitator price. This page stops one step earlier, at the inputs that fix which number you are asking for.
The 10-Input ESP Enquiry Sheet
Ten lines, sent together, fix what every quotation is built on. Three of them fix the configuration: the cooking, the airflow and the supply. Four fix the route, the stages and the running regime: the operating hours, the position, the discharge with its complaint record, and the odor requirement. Three fix the terms and the paperwork: the port and Incoterm, the reviewer and the date.
It is the full list behind the shorter enquiry lists on our price, buying-guide and country pages. For each input it adds where it is found and what to send when it is missing. Copy the second column into your enquiry as it stands.
The 10-Input ESP Enquiry Sheet — the ten lines that make an electrostatic precipitator quotation comparable with any other. IF you hold inputs 1, 2 and 7 today, THEN send them now; the other seven can follow as answers to the open points listed on the quotation.
| # | Send us | Why it changes the quotation | Where you find it | If you do not have it |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Menu, appliances and fuel, including any charcoal, wood or charbroiler line | Sets the grease and smoke load and the efficiency tier; solid fuel changes the exhaust system the unit sits in | The kitchen equipment schedule; the menu | Describe the cooking style in a sentence; we tier it and say so on the quotation |
| 2 | Exhaust airflow in m³/h or CFM per duct, how many ducts or hoods, who set the figure (design or measured), and whether the extract fan is in our scope | Fixes the model size and the number of units, and the airflow any efficiency figure has to be read at | Mechanical drawings; the balance report; the hood schedule | Send the hood length and the cooking duty; we quote on an assumed figure, stated as assumed |
| 3 | Operating hours per day and days per week | Sets the cleaning regime we write into the offer, and whether carbon media is a running cost that matters | Operations; the lease | State the opening hours. A full day is assumed and written on the quotation |
| 4 | The position available: straight duct length, which side opens for service, the space dimensions, and whether it is outdoors; for a hood route, the cook line length | Decides in-duct versus hood, the transition pieces and whether the cells can be withdrawn. An outdoor position calls for the IP55 record; see the note under the table | The site survey; the duct drawing; photographs | Send photographs and a sketch with three dimensions. The datasheet carries the dimensions and flange sizes to check against it, and a general arrangement drawing for the offered configuration follows on request |
| 5 | Where the exhaust discharges and any complaint on record: who complained, where and when | Decides whether the electrostatic stage is enough or gas-phase stages enter the scope | The roof plan; complaint letters; the landlord’s notice | Say whether there is a complaint at all; the offer states the assumption |
| 6 | Any odor requirement in writing: a planning condition, a lease clause, an authority notice | Adds UV-C or carbon stages to the train against a requirement, not by default | The condition or clause itself | Say none; we quote the electrostatic stage and list the odor stages as an option |
| 7 | Supply voltage, frequency and phase count, read at the panel that will feed the unit | The unit is configured to order, 220 V or 380 V at 50 or 60 Hz; a wrong figure means a rebuild | The panel label; the electrician’s reading | Send the country and the building type. The quotation then states the assumed supply |
| 8 | Destination port, preferred Incoterm and the importer of record; EXW, FOB or CIF under Incoterms 2020, or another rule arranged to suit you | Fixes the freight basis of the proforma invoice and who it is issued to, and which electrostatic precipitator certificate of origin, if any, goes on its document list | Your forwarder; the purchase order template | Ask for FOB Shanghai; the freight line is added when the port is known |
| 9 | Who reviews the installation and the document list they issue; if a specification names a capture-efficiency test method, such as ASTM F2519-05(2025), say so | Lets us assemble the certificate copies and reports for the quoted models to that list, and tells you early which items we hold | The specification; the consultant; the authority’s submission form | Say which market; we send the documents we hold for the quoted models |
| 10 | Required on-site date | Shows whether 7–15 days of production plus freight fits the program | The construction program | Give the opening date. Production and freight are counted back from it |
This sheet fixes what the quotation is built on. It does not select the model or the stages; that is done against the inputs and stated on the offer.
Three rows carry a site step that is done before the enquiry goes out.
- Row 4, the service side. Mark which side of the duct can be opened. The cells are withdrawn from that side for cleaning, so the clearance has to exist before the unit is positioned. If the position is outdoors, the IP55 record applies: certificate BKC-190300574C of 2019 to EN 60529, the European adoption of IEC 60529, naming LK30–LK320 and LK30E1–LK150E1.
- Row 7, the supply. Have the voltage read at the panel that will feed the unit by the electrician doing the connection, not copied from the building’s nameplate.
- Row 1, solid fuel. Say whether any line cooks over charcoal, wood or a charbroiler. Those lines run hotter and carry embers. NFPA 96 puts solid-fuel cooking on its own exhaust system with a spark arrester, so where the unit sits on that system is settled before the quotation.
From the inputs to a route: in-duct, hood or three stages
Inputs 2, 4, 5 and 6 pick the route before any model is named, and the model follows on the product page, not here. We apply three rules when an enquiry arrives. The stage choice behind them is explained in which stages a kitchen exhaust filtration train needs. What each of the three stages controls is on what an ecology unit is.
Route rules. IF a straight duct run has one side open for service and the airflow is 2,000 m³/h or more per unit, THEN the route is in-duct, LK or LK-E. BECAUSE: the LK range starts at 2,000 m³/h per unit across 41 standard models; the 33 LK-E models start at 3,000 m³/h, and both scale in parallel for larger extracts.
IF there is no duct space above the cook line, or the hood and the filtration are wanted from one maker, THEN the route is an HME ESP hood. BECAUSE: the cells and the fan sit inside the canopy, in twelve models from 3,000 to 4,800 m³/h. The brochure supply is 380 V, 50 Hz, and other supplies are configured to order.
IF row 6 holds a written odor requirement, or the complaint on row 5 persists once the smoke is gone, THEN the route is the three-stage kitchen ecology unit. Its train is an electrostatic stage, then UV-C, then activated carbon. BECAUSE: the UV and carbon stages act on the gas phase the electrostatic stage does not collect. Eight sizes run from 3,000 to 15,000 m³/h per treatment run, larger extracts go in parallel runs, and the UV and carbon side needs 1,000 mm of access depth.
These rules pick the route, not the model. The model and its count follow the airflow on row 2 and are named on the offer, with the pressure drop stated at that airflow.
What you get back
Within 24 hours on business days you get back a configuration, not a list price, and it states eight items. Our supplier profile already publishes the answer: a proforma invoice with Incoterms and lead time, the datasheet for the quoted models, and the certificate copies that apply to them. Third-party test reports are sent on request. The checks in the third column apply to our offer and to any other supplier’s.
IF an offer states fewer than these eight items, THEN ask for the missing ones before reading its price, BECAUSE a missing item can come back later as a cost.
| Item | What it states | What to check |
|---|---|---|
| Proforma invoice | The Incoterm agreed on row 8, the destination port where known, the lead time and the payment terms, issued to the importer named on row 8. The standing terms are published on our supplier profile | That the Incoterm matches row 8, and that freight is a separate line when the port was not yet known. The signed invoice is also the baseline for our pre-shipment inspection checklist |
| Datasheet for the quoted models | Model, rated airflow, dimensions and flange sizes, the supply configuration and the pressure drop; weight where the datasheet publishes it | That the rated airflow matches row 2; a datasheet for another size is not the quoted machine |
| Pressure drop | Stated per model at the design airflow, as a complete unit; measured values exist in CMA-accredited reports for named models | What the figure includes when it is not stated as a complete unit; how two offers can state it differently is explained in ecology unit price |
| Certificate copies for the quoted models | Only the certificates that name those models. CE certificate FQC2602501, covering Machinery Directive 2006/42/EC with the EMC and Low Voltage directives, names LK30–LK480, LK30E1–LK150E1 and the UV series. The UL 867 listing under File E522667 appears only when the LK or SE 6K, 12K or 18K models at 230 V, 50 Hz are quoted. It can be checked on UL Product iQ under that file number. RoHS 2.0 certificate BKC25114877LC covers the lines it names | Every model number in the offer against the certificate; a certificate that does not name the model does not cover it. The certificates by product line are on our ESP certifications page |
| Third-party test reports | On request, each naming the model, the airflow and the report number. Report ZY05W230298, from a CMA-accredited laboratory, records up to 97.6% grease removal on an LK160 at 16,000 m³/h with a resistance of 150 Pa under that test | Request the report itself and check the serial-number link and test conditions before treating any efficiency figure as a performance basis; the fields to read are set out in our electrostatic precipitator test report guide |
| Warranty boundary, in writing | The warranty period and which items are consumables; the boundary is the one published on the supplier profile | That consumables are priced separately when an odor stage is in scope |
| Open points | The inputs that were missing and the assumption made for each | Answer them; the offer is revised, not re-quoted from the start |
| Catalog, installation manual and certification pack | On request, emailed within one business day, as listed on our downloads page | Ask for the installation manual with the offer when a contractor is pricing the installation |
This table answers what a quotation states. It does not align three offers you already hold; the five-line rebasing method for that is in pollution control unit cost. The sixteen lines that put two or three offers on one airflow, one scope and one delivery basis are on our electrostatic precipitator quotation comparison page.
No price appears on this page, and none is held in a list. The number follows the configuration, which is why the sheet comes first and the figure second. Where a tender has to fix those same items in writing, the clauses are set out on our ecology unit specification page.
What you do not need to send
Five things are not needed before an enquiry, and waiting for them delays the quotation more than any missing input does. This is our practice; other suppliers set their own.
- A formal RFQ document. Ten lines in an email carry the same information; the sheet above is the format, and the open points come back on the quotation.
- A model selection. The model follows the inputs. Send one first and the airflow gets checked against it instead of the other way round.
- A local agent. The enquiry does not have to come through one; the quotation is issued to whoever is named on row 8, and the distributor program is a separate decision.
- Emission measurements at the discharge. That needs access to a live duct and a test house, and the quotation does not depend on it. The complaint on row 5 is enough to set the stage list.
- Finished drawings. A sketch with three dimensions and photographs of the position do the same job at enquiry stage; a general arrangement drawing for the offered configuration follows on request.
A two-line enquiry rewritten as ten lines
The two-line enquiry below is a common kind, and the rewrite shows what each added line lets the offer state. The values are invented to show the method, and no model or price is named.
Teaching example only — not Polygee test data, not a product claim, not an acceptance threshold.
| # | The two-line enquiry | The ten-line enquiry | What the offer can now state |
|---|---|---|---|
| — | “ESP for restaurant kitchen. Price?” | The ten rows below, in one email | A configuration, instead of a default |
| 1 | Not stated | Charcoal grill and a wok line under two hoods | The efficiency tier, and the solid-fuel exhaust question raised before the position is fixed |
| 2 | Not stated | 6,000 m³/h per hood, design figure from the consultant; fan by the mechanical contractor | The model size per hood, or one unit for both, with its pressure drop at that airflow; no fan in scope |
| 3 | Not stated | Fourteen hours a day, seven days a week | The cleaning regime written into the offer |
| 4 | Not stated | Three meters of straight duct above the ceiling behind each hood, left side open, indoors | The in-duct route, no outdoor record needed |
| 5 | Not stated | Roof discharge twelve meters from apartment windows; one landlord letter on file | Gas-phase stages enter the scope |
| 6 | Not stated | Lease clause: odor control to the landlord’s satisfaction | UV-C and carbon stages quoted in the train, not listed as an option |
| 7 | Not stated | 380 V, 50 Hz, three-phase, read at the panel | The supply configured on the order; no rebuild |
| 8 | Not stated | CIF Jebel Ali; importer named | Freight and insurance on the proforma invoice; the invoice issued to the importer |
| 9 | Not stated | The consultant’s submission list, attached | Certificate copies and reports assembled to that list, with any item we do not hold named |
| 10 | Not stated | On site in ten weeks | Production plus sea freight checked against the date |
The ten-line version gets back a comparable offer; the two-line version gets back a default. Nothing in the right-hand column is a price, and the model is named on the offer, not on this page.
Scope and limits
Three layers clear separately.
- Layer one, the offer: the route, the models at the stated airflow, the documents and the terms.
- Layer two, the site: installation, ductwork, the electrical connection, supports and access decide whether that configuration goes in as quoted.
- Layer three, operation: delivered airflow, capture at the hood, cleaning and consumables decide the result at the discharge.
Passing one layer does not clear the next. Layer one is all that is dealt with here.
- No price appears on this page. Send the sheet and the price comes back against a stated configuration.
- No model is selected here. The model follows row 2 and is named on the offer; the ranges are on the product pages.
- No cleaning interval is given. It is set in writing for your site with the configuration proposal, from rows 1 and 3.
- No fan data appear. With a kitchen ecology unit, the matched extract fan can be supplied on request, selected on the total static pressure of the run. Say on row 2 whether it is in scope.
- No market approval is judged. Your specification may call for market-specific approvals; state them on row 9 and we tell you which documents we hold for the quoted models.
- No transit time is stated. Ask for it with the proforma invoice and add it to the lead time.
- Certificates cover the models they name. Check every model number in the offer against the certificate, ours included.
Buyer record and key takeaways
Four lines go into the project file with the enquiry.
- Before sending: rows 1, 2 and 7 in hand; rows 4–6 from the site survey and the complaint file; rows 8–10 from the forwarder, the reviewer and the program.
- Ask every supplier for: the eight items under What you get back, before reading any price.
- Stop and ask when: an offer carries a datasheet for another size, a pressure drop without its basis, or a certificate that does not name the quoted model.
- Re-quote when: a new airflow, solid fuel added, an outdoor position, a panel reading unlike the stated supply, or a written odor requirement after the offer.
Key takeaways
- Enquiry: the ten inputs of The 10-Input ESP Enquiry Sheet make an electrostatic precipitator quotation comparable, not the word price.
- Route: the position, the discharge and the odor requirement pick in-duct, hood or three stages; the model follows the airflow and is named on the offer.
- Offer: a quotation is a proforma invoice, a datasheet, certificate copies for the named models and reports on request, not a number alone.
- Certificates: a certificate covers the models it names, not the range it belongs to.
- Missing inputs: send what you hold; the open points come back listed on the quotation, not as a delay.
Frequently asked questions
- How much does an electrostatic precipitator cost?
- There is no list price. The number follows the route, the airflow and the configuration, and an offer that states all three can be compared with another; an offer that leaves one out cannot. Send the ten inputs on this page and the price comes back against a stated configuration, with the proforma invoice, the datasheet and the certificate copies for the quoted models. What moves the number, from airflow to commercial terms, is explained on our electrostatic precipitator price page and is not repeated here.
- What documents come with an electrostatic precipitator quotation?
- A proforma invoice with Incoterms and lead time, the datasheet for the quoted models, and copies of the certificates that apply to those models. Third-party test reports are sent on request, each naming the model tested, the airflow and the report number. The certificate copies are only those that name the quoted models; a model not named on a certificate is not covered by it. Catalogs, installation manuals and the certification pack are emailed within one business day on request.
- How long does a quotation take?
- Within 24 hours on business days. When inputs are missing, the quotation goes out in that time on stated assumptions, with the open points listed, and is revised when the answers arrive. Our support hours are Monday to Friday, 8:00 to 17:00, GMT+8.
- Can I get a quotation for one unit?
- Yes. The minimum order is one unit, and a single trial unit is a normal first order. The lead time for standard models is 7 to 15 days, with sea freight added on top. Freight is quoted on the Incoterm and the port you name, shipped from Shanghai Port.
- Do you quote the extract fan?
- When you ask for it, and the route decides how. An HME ESP hood carries its own fan. With a three-stage ecology unit, the matched extract fan can be supplied on request and is selected on the total static pressure of the run; say so on row 2. For an in-duct LK or LK-E unit, the fan is usually in the mechanical contractor’s package. Fan data appear on the offer, not on this page.
Ready to send the ten inputs?
Scoping an electrostatic precipitator or ecology unit for your kitchen? Send us the cooking, the exhaust airflow and the supply as read at the panel. Add the other seven lines of The 10-Input ESP Enquiry Sheet as you have them. Within 24 hours on business days you get back the route and the models named at your airflow, with the pressure drop stated as a complete unit. With them come a proforma invoice on the Incoterm you name, the datasheet and the certificate copies for those models, and the open points listed.
Why we write this. We sit at the point where an enquiry becomes a configuration. The questions that reach us most often are what to send for a quotation, what it will contain, and whether a price can be given from the product name alone. This page answers the first two and explains why the third cannot be. It does not size or configure equipment; sizing lives on the product pages and the quotation itself is issued against your inputs.
Scarlett handles export inquiries from every market, dealer relationships and commercial terms at Polygee. Polygee, founded in 2004, manufactures the in-duct electrostatic precipitators, ESP hoods and ecology units described here and has exported to 50 countries. The terms stated here are our published terms and our enquiry practice; they are not a quotation, a mechanical design, a conformity certificate or an approval.
References & further reading
- Incoterms 2020, International Chamber of Commerce: the rules behind the EXW, FOB and CIF terms on a proforma invoice. iccwbo.org (Incoterms 2020)
- UL 867, Standard for Electrostatic Air Cleaners, Fifth Edition: UL Solutions note on the revised standard. The listing under File E522667 for the LK and SE 6K, 12K and 18K models is checked on UL Product iQ. ul.com (UL 867)
- IEC 60529:1989+AMD1:1999+AMD2:2013, Degrees of protection provided by enclosures (IP Code), IEC Webstore. Its European adoption EN 60529 is the basis of IP55 certificate BKC-190300574C of 2019 for LK30–LK320 and LK30E1–LK150E1. webstore.iec.ch (IEC 60529)
- ASTM F2519-05(2025), Standard Test Method for Grease Particle Capture Efficiency of Commercial Kitchen Filters and Extractors, ASTM International. store.astm.org (F2519)
- NFPA 96, Standard for Ventilation Control and Fire Protection of Commercial Cooking Operations, National Fire Protection Association. The clause relied on: solid-fuel cooking on its own exhaust system with a spark arrester. nfpa.org (NFPA 96)
- Machinery Directive 2006/42/EC, with the EMC and Low Voltage directives: the directives named on CE certificate FQC2602501 for LK30–LK480, LK30E1–LK150E1 and the UV series.
Related reading
- Ecology unit price — why two three-stage quotations differ, how pressure drop is stated, and what is inside and outside the scope.
- Pollution control unit cost — the five-line method that puts three offers already received on the same basis.
- Commercial kitchen ESP buying guide — the six documents to verify before a supplier goes on the short list.
- Ecology unit specification — the clauses a consultant writes into a kitchen exhaust tender, and the document that answers each one.